Relentless Love

 

Clawdia and family

Clawdia and family

 

Some months ago a stray little tuxedo cat began to hang out in our back garden. She would drop in from time to time, always running away as soon as one of us walked out into the yard. Her visits were infrequent and I never really gave her a second thought until she reappeared. At least that’s how it was until one day she arrived with a trio of squirming kittens. Now everyone knows that once you feed a cat it instantly becomes yours, so common sense told me that I shouldn’t do it, but I just couldn’t resist.

Twice a day I would venture outside to provide tasty food and fresh water for the furry little family, and twice a day without fail Clawdia (as she became known) would hiss and spit at me. It didn’t matter that I showed her friendship and gave her food. She would simply take the gifts I provided while always rejecting my love with a hiss  and the threat if sharp claws. Her constant rejections saddened me. I mean I was clearly her friend. If she had only allowed me I would have given her a forever home filled with unconditional love and acceptance. Instead she chose to keep me at a distance, too afraid to be vulnerable, to proud to admit she needed a saviour.

My relationship with God can often be just like Clawdia’s relationship with me. How so? I hear you ask. Well I know he loves me, and yet I have often chosen to reject that love, while unthinkingly and ungratefully accepting the gifts that he has freely given me. All the while too proud to admit that I need a saviour just as much as my furry little friend does. I believe it grieves the heart of God when I behave this way, but fortunately for me his love is relentless. Just as I continued to pursue a relationship with Clawdia God continues to pursue me with his unending love. I just need to sheath my claws, allow myself to be vulnerable and admit that I need help.

“You love is faithful, Lord, and even the clouds in the sky can depend on you. Your decisions are always fair. They are firm like the mountains, deep like the sea, and all people and animals are under your care. Your love is a treasure, and everyone finds shelter in the shadow of your wings.” Psalm 36:5-7 CEV

Clawdia in the bird bath

Clawdia in the bird bath

4 comments

      1. I’m a cat lady……
        I have been helping cats for 25 years I trap them fix them socialize them and kittens have found good homes! So I have my house fill with the old ones that nobody wants.
        God bless your heart for doing what you doing…..we need more people like you!
        Love to all of you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for helping all those homeless cats. The world needs more people like you my furend. Thanks for visiting my blog. Blessings to you

        Like

Leave a Reply

