Dark Night of the Soul

photo(9)

Each night when I switch the lights off at my home a transformation takes place. With the coming of darkness, my normally sweet natured, lazy and slightly overweight cats become fierce creatures who fight mercilessly with each other, in between stalking about the house and torturing any unfortunate creepy crawly or rodent that crosses their path. Their nocturnal shenanigans  bear little resemblance to the cats I know and love. However as the sunlight begins to pour in through the windows and paint the floorboards golden, my fierce furry felines once again assume their loving, purring personas.

photo(11)

I always find it fascinating how the darkness of night transforms a cat’s personality in much the same way that darkness of the soul transforms mine. I don’t know about you, but when I allow darkness to permeate my soul the transformation that takes place is not a pretty one. I become like my fierce little felines: I fight with those I love, I attack anyone I deem to be an easy target, and anyone who is unfortunate enough to cross my path will certainly wish they hadn’t.

While the transformation that darkness causes in my cats is exactly what God intended for them, darkness of the soul was never what God intended for me or for you. In the busyness of the world in which we live darkness of the soul can creep up on us. We can get so caught up in doing “stuff”- running from one activity to the next – that we don’t take the time to quiet our souls, to stop and reflect. To be grateful. To be in the moment. To just be.

photo(13)

So if you are hissing and clawing at those around you because your soul is in darkness remember – or perhaps discover for the first time – that you are loved. Loved by the one who is the light of the world. Loved by the one who spoke light into being. Loved by the one who knows you better than you know yourself, so allow his light to shine into your heart and refresh your thirsty soul.

 Jesus: I am the light that shines through the cosmos; if you walk with Me, you will thrive in the

nourishing light that gives life and will not know darkness. John 8:12 The Voice

photo(10)

 

Leave a Reply

